Congratulations to our 2023 ACU Conference Award Winners!

The Association of Clinicians for the Underserved is honored to represent clinicians and advocates working to improve health equity for underserved populations, and we recognized leading individuals in our field with awards at our 2023 Conference, “Transformation: Elevating Care, Clinicians, & Communities,” on July 23-26 in Washington, D.C.

Learn more about each winner of our Conference awards below, and thank you again for joining us at #ACUConf to learn and network with clinicians, administrators, and advocates from across the U.S. who are united in expanding access to care and improving healthcare delivery for medically underserved populations.

Kerri Ruddell, NP
Clinician of the Year Award

This award represents the heart of our work and is awarded to a clinician who has demonstrated their commitment to improving the health of underserved communities through compassion and excellence in healthcare delivery. ACU is proud to honor Kerri Ruddell, NP, and clinical provider for Street Medicine and Community Outreach at Heritage Health. Ruddell has dedicated her career to serving those who are typically neglected by society and the healthcare system with trauma-informed, compassionate care.

Janani Arangan
Health Professional in Training Award

This award recognizes a student or resident who goes above and beyond in their commitment to caring for underserved populations. ACU proudly honors Janani Arangan, a graduate of the Frank H. Netter MD School of Medicine and current Family Medicine/Psychiatry resident at Boston Medical Center with this award. As a student leader, clinician in training, and National Health Service Corps Scholar, Jan has a passion for community-based medicine and a dedication to providing healthcare to underserved communities.

Brooks Miller
Marc Wetherhorn Advocate of the Year Award

This award honors an advocate whose advocacy efforts have contributed to improvements to policies or systems that impact the health of underserved populations. ACU proudly recognizes Brooks Miller, CEO of Jordan Valley Community Health Center, for his decades of advocacy leadership in support of health center funding resulting in exponential growth and expansion for the health center program across the nation.

Dr. Rosandra Daywalker
Excellence in Health Equity Award

This award recognizes individuals for their commitment to promoting equity in health outcomes and for creating a culture of inclusivity in healthcare. ACU is proud to honor Dr. Rosandra Daywalker, Medical Director and Total Worker Health Subject Matter Expert for WorkSTEPS, for her vision, commitment to health equity, and compassionate leadership that continues to reshape the field of health, safety, and well-being—and for creating safer, healthier, and more resilient workplace environments.